London Street Art – Part I

STOP THE MADNESS!  I am swimming in a sea of case studies, theory, academic writing, long hours, and way too much coffee!  In an effort to keep my sanity, the lovely Carolina asked if I wanted to go on a London street art tour with her this past Saturday.  I didn’t hesitate!  I gladly accepted, bundled up – although not enough, and met her at the American heaven, Starbucks, to get our motors running.  After the 3 hour walking tour, we headed to The Bridge (couldn’t find a website, but there are some good pictures here) to thaw out, meet the oh-so-talented Stephanie, and sip on the best Latte I have had to date…soya of course.  If you are interested in street art, check out Street Art London Tours.  They are very knowledgeable and seem passionate about the work.  We only focused on Shoreditch, but it leaves me excited to see more street art in the coming weeks.  I need to break up the post so this is Part I.  There was just too much great stuff to put into one post.  Also, I didn’t note the artists so this is my disclaimer that all credit goes to those artists not me for my photography.  Enjoy!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

This is chewing gum, and not the artist’s gum. The artist uses a blow torch to flatten the gum, paints on it, then puts a varnish on it. He has been arrested for littering, but technically it’s not his gum so the charges don’t stick…haha…get it…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Artist Stik

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

My favorite artist on the tour. More to come…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

One thought on “London Street Art – Part I

Leave a Reply

